Latest news update

Turkish students volunteer in Niger, Somalia

Turkish students are volunteering in Niger and Somalia as part of a Turkish Cooperation and Coordination Agency's (TIKA) 2018 Experience Sharing Program program. 

Turkish students are volunteering in Niger and Somalia as part of a Turkish Cooperation and Coordination Agency’s (TIKA) 2018 Experience Sharing Program program. 

In Niger, they helped youths learn the Turkish language via the Turkish Maarif Foundation (TMV).

Recep Sezer, a student of the faculty of Islamic sciences of Canakkale March 18 University , told Anadolu Agency that the training had been successful.

“We practiced speaking and explained their mistakes, they took our numbers to keep practicing with us,” he said.

Mustafa Safa Tural, a student of the September 19 University medical faculty, said, TMV was helping locals receive education.

“Finding Turkish-speaking students in a land a six-hour-flight away is very pleasing and it makes me proud. The students learned Turkish really fast, they have also used our presence to develop their skills in the Turkish language,” he added.

Turkish students also carried out volunteer work in Somalia under the same TIKA program.

The volunteering medical students in Somalia examined patients at the government hospital of Keysaney Hospital and the Recep Tayyip Erdogan Hospital which was built and is administered by the Turkish Health Ministry.

The students trained in the emergency, internal medicine, urology and general surgery departments under the supervision of physicians.

TIKA, Turkish Airlines, Anadolu Agency and Turkish Radio and Television Corporation (TRT) have jointly organized the “2018 Experience Sharing Program”.

TIKA is to send some 500 Turkish students from 117 universities to 30 countries between July 29 and Sept. 8, within the framework of its 2018 Experience Sharing Program. The students will take part in nearly 100 projects and activities in their host countries.

The program covers various countries of the world such as Niger, Albania, Bosnia Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Algeria, Djibouti, Chad, Morocco, Ghana, Georgia, Cameroon, Montenegro, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Colombia, Lebanon, Macedonia, Mozambique, Namibia, Uzbekistan, Romania, Senegal, Serbia, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, Tunisia, Jordan, Moldova and South Africa. 

Back to top button